• ...and so much more!
  • Status
    Not open for further replies.

BehindBlueI's

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Oct 3, 2012
    As I have previously posted, I recently picked up a Ruger GP100. It is the Wiley Clapp Hawkeye Blued, which is a 3" barrel .357 magnum revolver. Today I took it for its first range day. I used a Galco "Summer Comfort" IWB holster throughout. All shooting was done double action only. I'll do some single action work later, but wanted to get used to the trigger pull of DA as that's how you'll likely shoot it in a real self-defense scenario.

100_1058_zps53814761.jpg

First up was 50 rounds of Ultramax Match 158gr semi-wadcutters. I've never used this ammo before, and doubt I will again. It shoots soft, recoil is minimal, and accuracy was acceptable. I wouldn't consider it match grade ammo, though, at least in the Ruger.

This is 6 rounds from 7 yards, two handed. I was a bit disappointed with the grouping.

2013-03-22114640_zps391ce173.jpg

I ran 6 more rounds through it a bit faster at 15 yards and then 6 more at 25 yards, going for headshots. As you can see, I was off paper on 3 of the headshots and the torso groups were acceptable but not great.

2013-03-22115405_zpsf7a18d02.jpg

I finished out the box, and while the gun felt good, it just wasn't shooting the groups I had hoped for. At this point I wasn't sure if it was me or the gun.

Next up was a box of CCI Blazer Brass 158gr jacketed hollow points. First up was 7 yards, two handed shooting, same as with the UltraMax. The box is the size of a credit card. I was much happier with this ammo than the Ultramax and decided it wasn't me or the gun, it was the ammunition.

2013-03-22120549_zps4e50ac7f.jpg

The Blazer ammo is loaded hotter than the Ultramax and you can tell. The recoil is heavier, but still very controllable with the heavy GP100. It groups quite well, and was actually the cheaper of the two.

2013-03-22120910_zps92766bbd.jpg