• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Alamo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Oct 4, 2010
    Texas
    The Texas Legislature is just about to close it's 85th Regular Session - sessions are held every two years. Looks like there will be a Special Session, but I doubt any 2A-related bills will be considered. So, since some of y'all occasionally wander through the Lone Star State, here is a no doubt incomplete summary of changes to Texas law, most if not all becoming effective on 01 Sep 17.

Note: I am not a lawyer and am not providing legal advice, so don't depend on this for your legal well-being. I am also not a bail bondsman nor your best friend, so if you find yourself in a Texas jail do not call me for bail money.

Overall I think this session as somewhat disappointing. Last Leg we had Campus Carry and Open Carry pass, which were two biggies. This session there the two biggest (in terms of potential impact) bills were Constitutional Carry and HB 560, which never got a catchy name. HB 560 would have removed nearly all restrictions on where a LTC holder could carry. Constitutional Carry probably would have retained the current restrictions on LTC carry, plus some more by the time it passed - if it had gone forward. Const Carry made it through committee, went to the Calendars Committee, and was never heard from again. HB560 was sent to committee, but never got even a hearing. Very disappointing.

On the neutral side, all the anti-2A bills, and there were many, filed by the Democrats went nowhere. I say neutral because circularly filing anti-2A bills should be minimum standard for a Republican legislature, kind of like putting on your pants in the morning (altho can't even be sure of that any more).

On to specifics: