• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • CTS

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 24, 2012
    Fort Wayne
    This may be mostly academic but I ran across an employee handbook today that stated an employee could possess a firearm and ammunition in their vehicle at work but that the firearm and ammunition had to be separated.

The law on this subject doesn't seem to mention the manner of storage outside of making sure it isn't in plain sight. Could the employer terminate someone without being subject to the civil ramifications of the law if someone were discovered to have a loaded firearm in their vehicle?

gregkl

Outlier
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Apr 8, 2012
    Bloomington
    I'm no lawyer but in Indiana can't you be fired for any, or no reason at all? Sure you can sue for wrongful termination but is it worth the hassle?

At my employ, according to company policy we are not allowed to have a gun in the parking lot at all. And since I have a company car, they can search it any time without a warrant. Basically they are denying me the ability to protect myself. When I travel for business, according to company policy I cannot take a gun with me.

Makes me feel all warm and safe traveling in Detroit, Louisville, and many other cities staying in motel rooms with one way in and out not having a means to protect myself.

Libertarian01

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 12, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    Here is a link to the actual law: https://www.lawserver.com/law/state/indiana/in-code/indiana_code_34-28-7-2

While there are types of employment that are exempt from the law, such as a daycare facility, the employer can't say squat about how or where the gun is stored. The only burden on you as the employee is that it MUST remain out of sight.