Permit required at IN range for IL resident?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • johnoleary

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 29, 2019
    Napierville
    Hi all,

I'm an IL resident, but I'd like to get in some range time in Indiana. Does anyone know if it is possible to get time on a range (and potentially rent a rifle) without a FOID? Thanks!

Ziggidy

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 7, 2018
    Ziggidyville
    Hi all,

I'm an IL resident, but I'd like to get in some range time in Indiana. Does anyone know if it is possible to get time on a range (and potentially rent a rifle) without a FOID? Thanks!

It's best to check with the range; however, in Illinois a non-resident can go to the range without a problem (at least the ones I went to) as long as they were with a resident of Illinois, that had a FOID. I do not know, but it may be the same (although we do not have FOID in Indiana)?

rosejm

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Nov 28, 2013
    NWI
    Up here in Da' Region it will vary.

Some ranges will require IL residents to present FOID cards. Some have (lots of) problems with prohibited persons coming across the border to get some "practice"

For firearm rental, I would expect more locations to have that requirement. Or not allowing out-of-state rentals at all.
    Their shops, their rules.

Sigblitz

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 25, 2018
    Indianapolis