• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BugI02

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 4, 2013
    Columbus, OH
    I collect semi-auto handguns and old (full length) milsurp mausers. Now I'm thinking about getting a black rifle so I'm beginning to research a subject I don't know that much about. i probably won't actually take the plunge for a few months, but in light of the high level of knowledge i've seen in posts from INGOers I was hoping some would share some basic knowledge with me. My purpose is to have a firearm to control out to 200-250 yards that would be accurate and not too unpleasant for my wife to shoot. I would like advice/info on all customizable aspects (ie barrel length, types of lower and bcg etc ). I haven't decided between 5.56 and 7.62 (although I expect 7.62 might make achieving a comfortable shoot for the wife more difficult) and would also appreciate links to recommended reading (keeping in mind I'm quite new to this) That said I'm also an admirer of Eugene Stoner and really like the looks of the old AR-10's with the weird brick red bakelite. I don't really know why.

mvician

Master
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    May 19, 2008
    NW Indiana
    Take your time and read. Read some more. Get a basic understanding of the rifle. Then ask questions.

Asking now without a basic knowledge is going to be confusing, especially when you will get 100's of different answers on a forum.
    This guy likes this, that guy likes that...ect.

downlinx

Expert
    Rating - 90.9%
    10   1   0
    Nov 24, 2012
    Lafayette, IN
    Take your time and read. Read some more. Get a basic understanding of the rifle. Then ask questions.

Asking now without a basic knowledge is going to be confusing, especially when you will get 100's of different answers on a forum.
    This guy likes this, that guy likes that...ect.
    I agree with this

Brassman65

Shooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 22, 2014
    anderson