• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rooze1986

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jun 26, 2014
    NWI
    Does anyone have suggestions for converting an 870 Wingmaster with a 20" rifled barrel to a home defense shotgun? I am a definite noob when it comes to shotguns. It's rather difficult to find a smooth bore barrel around 18-20" for a reasonable price. Also, would anyone recommend a tube extension or is 4+1 sufficient. Thanks for your input.

snapping turtle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 5, 2009
    Madison county
    Mossburg makes rem 870 barrels and sells the cheap. Look at the 18 inch a smooth bore with whatever sight arrangement you like.

i have always felt 4+1 was fine as you can top them off as you go.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    Wouldn't buckshot in a rifled barrel tear up the rifling essentially ruining the barrel?

Maybe - but there's still probably a wad cup holding everything together. Plus - most of the buck shot is still lead - which is considerably softer than the steel. (Granted, the steel is thin...)

But the main issue is fouling with the plastics from the wads.

-J-

singlesix

Grandmaster
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    May 13, 2008
    Indianapolis, In
    Same as using rat-shot in a pistol, I wouldn't make it a habit but in a HD situation how many times are you going to fire? Hopefully only twice.

Zoub

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 8, 2008
    Northern Edge, WI
    Wouldn't buckshot in a rifled barrel tear up the rifling essentially ruining the barrel?