• ...and so much more!
  • hoosierglock40

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 7, 2014
    Indianapolis
    Hey guys,

I have been looking into getting into long range shooting for awhile now and have a few questions about it. To start, the longest shooting I have ever done is about 200 yards(all my property allows) with a rifle. Eventually, I want to be able to shoot 1000 yards, but I know that will take a lot of time, work, and money to do. I am a college student, not poor, but not wealthy by any means. I am wondering what advice you guys would have on a beginner's rifle setup. Is it something that I should save up a long time for and get a rifle and glass that will go to 1000 yards right at the beginning? Or would my time and money be better spent with a decent rifle and glass that I could be putting range time in with earlier and then upgrade when I need something to go farther? Ideally I would like to get a rem 700 sps .308 24", put a new stock on it, DBM, good glass, and bipod but I know there would be cheaper options to get me at the range sooner. What say you ingo?

Also, are there any long range shooting ranges around the indy area?

NyleRN

Master
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Dec 14, 2013
    Scottsburg
    I'd stick to shooting 600yds and under. If you want to shoot 1000yds, then be ready to pony up serious cash. You'll have probably in the neighborhood of $1500+ just in a barrel and glass to shoot well at that range. Best bet is to jump over to sniper hide forum and read up. Not trying to be discouraging, but realistic for a college kid

sht4brnz

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 93.3%
    14   1   0
    Aug 29, 2012
    N.IndNpls
    Your idea with the sps will do what you're after without breaking the bank.
    Consider that you'll be able to recoup most of your investment when you decide to either upgrade or step in a different direction.

duffman0286

Master
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Feb 3, 2011
    Wayne Co