• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Tom Threetoes

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 14, 2010
    Southwestern IN
    Last year I got a heck of a deal on a new Remington 783 in 30-06. I didn't really need it but couldn't pass it up, anyway I have read a bit about the 783 and some may have a rough bore. I don't have a bore scope to check mine. I'm wondering if I should lapp the barrel with some JB paste before I ever shoot it. Petzal, Field and Stream's gun editor, says it's a shooter inspite of the rough bore. I just don't want to copper foul it right off the bat!

Woobie

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Dec 19, 2014
    Losantville
    Breaking in will help. And copper fouling can be removed. I'm not going to say not to use JB, but I really haven't used anything of theirs except bore brite, so I'm not experienced with the lapping.

bobjones223

Master
    Rating - 98.2%
    55   1   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Noblesville, IN
    Well here is my two cents for what they are worth....I used Tubbs Final Finish rounds on my 1894 and it was the best money I ever spent on a gun...went from 3"-4" groups to 1" groups.....BUT on the flip side that was a final measure after trying 7 different types of ammo.....I would shoot it first using different rounds to see if you have a shooter already before I go jacking with it...

natdscott

User Unknown
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 20, 2015
    NO. (caveat that firelapping can be useful)

JB products are not lapping. They're not harder than the steel, and therefore, cannot lap it.

The first thing to do is to SHOOT the rifle instead of finger-fiddle it.

-Nate

BE Mike

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    New Albany