• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • viiiupndhead

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Jun 8, 2010
    Auburn
    Hello INGO, its been too long. I've regretted NOT getting a Saiga 12 since the ban went into effect. However, a few manufacturers have started to fill the void and I'd like to see if any of you have experience with some of these options. I have pretty well ruled out a Saiga due to the higher than reasonable cost created by the ban.

I fully intend to SBS the gun I select, which is my main reason for a box fed. Would like to keep the whole project including tax stamp, smith work, and mags under $2000

Options (Current Pricing from Atlantic Firearms):

* VEPR 12 $999:
    I have no experience with these. Folks generally seem to like them, may need a good bit of polish.

* UTAS XTR-12 $799: AR Ergos with drop free mags. Short stroke piston. Mags are pricey but available. Gas system not adjustable so it makes me a bit nervous cutting a barrel. I've seen exactly 1 video on YouTube with a SBS XTR-12 and reached out the poster to see if he has advice.

* DDI Cheetah 12 $599: Cheapest of the bunch. Has AR style buffer tube stock, AK pistol grip, Saiga forend. Everything seems compatible with something else. I called Atlantic Firearms to inquire about the DDI Puma (box fed bullpen 12 gauge) and the rep stated they weren't expecting any in. When I asked why they told me DDI had closed. Their FB page and website is out of date and the phone is disconnected. I'd hate to have issues and no support...

* Fostech Origin-12 $2500: Best in class. By far the most expensive. I'd have to save until the next election cycle to get this one...