• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Ruffnek

Master
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    I've got a Savage 10 FCP-SR "second gen" and I've kinda been eyeballing different chassis systems and DBMs so I can use AICS mags instead of Savage's $60+ proprietary magazines. I've always heard people tout the praises of the Accustock but it's usually followed by the phrase "for the money" or " for what you're paying." So is it a dumb idea to replace the Accustock, or will a good chassis system offer even more accuracy?

Pros of chassis system:
    AI mags
    Ergonomics
    Easier to mount bipod

Cons:
    Money

Anything I'm not thinking about?

sheepdog697

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Sep 2, 2015
    Cedar Lake
    Im not an expert on Savage. However, i dont think that stock is your best bet for accuracy. Take a look at this article. Group sizes significantly shrunk after he switched to a chassis. I have a KRG xray chassis on my tikka and it shoots 1/2'' groups regularly. I never shot my tikka with the factory stock but i can vouch for KRGs product as being exceptional.

https://rifleshooter.com/2016/02/savage-model-10-fcp-sr-review/

quick image uploader

sgreen3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    51   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Scottsburg,In