• ...and so much more!
  • daventos

Plinker
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Apr 23, 2017
    Bedford
    I am new to bolt guns and would like to buy an entry level .243 win. I have heard good things about the accuracy of the Savage 11/111. The Savage comes with a Nikon 3x9 scope. I have no first hand experience with Savage though. The Ruger American comes with a Vortex 3x9. I have read a lot of really good things about the Vortex warranty and customer service. I haven't been able to find as much info about the Ruger American rifle. I have owned other Rugers and have been extremely pleased the one time I did deal with their customer service. The regular price of both is pretty close right now from what I have seen. Savage does have a $50 dollar rebate which would be nice but I still wouldn't buy for that reason alone. Any other brand recommendations would be appreciated as well. I would like to stay below $600 for this rifle. The Savage and Ruger are both around $490 before rebate. I plan to use the rifle mostly for target shooting but may hunt deer someday if that is a consideration.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    No idea about the Ruger.
    But if the 11 shoots as good as my 10FP you will not be disappointed.
    Plus with a few tools you can change barrels on the Savage. Making it a multi- caliber

halfmileharry

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    65   0   0
    Dec 2, 2010
    South of Indy
    I have both. Go with the Savage.
    As accurate and economic as the Americans are they're still "entry" level.
    Not a lot of aftermarket support on the Americans yet. Very limited as of my last searches a couple of weeks ago.
    On the other hand... I can recommend the American for a gun you won't shoot often or don't see a need to customize.

clfergus

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    49   0   0
    Mar 9, 2009
    Southeast Indy