• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • turnerdye1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    60   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    North Central IN
    I need some recommendations on a 308 bolt gun. I've been looking at the Mossberg MVP LR and a Savage 10 FCP. Both of these are within my budget area but I have zero experience with either brand. I'm leaning more towards the MVP due to it taking AR10 mags.

I already have a scope and rings that I plan on putting on this rifle.

I am mainly looking for a target gun out to 1000 at this time. I have up to 1000 yards and nothing past that, which is why I've settled on the 308 instead of 6.5CM.

So what do you guys say? Any other rifles out there I may be missing?

turnerdye1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    60   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    North Central IN
    Appreciate all the leads guys! I think I may be getting the Bergera HMR... Now if I can find one in stock somewhere for the same price.

Cabelas has them on back order currently for 850 with a 2-3 week ship time. Other places still have them for 1000 and on backorder so I may pull the trigger on Cabelas unless someone knows a better place to get one.

Nitro

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Aug 24, 2017
    Columbus
    Savage 10 FCP-SR. I just picked one up a few months ago and put a vortex scope on it.... It is amazing within 20 rounds I hit a golf ball at 300 Yard no joke. It is a sweet bolt action only thing that is a little finicky is the magazine. Savage has had some issues with them. I just found that you have to be aggressive with it. I am getting ready to ship out my stock to get it hydro dipped. The Accutrigger is awesome. Can make it like a hair trigger which I love for longer shots. Savage customer service is awesome too.

turnerdye1

Master
    Rating - 100%
    60   0   0
    Dec 26, 2010
    North Central IN
    As of right now I think I've settled on my setup.

Bergara HMR in 308
    Seekins 20MOA Scope Base