• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Kevinslaterjr

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 11, 2018
    South bend
    Im relatively new to shotguns and new to these forums, so I hope I don't sound like a complete idiot here.
    My dad just recently gave me my grandfathers Browning SAS. My plan is to take apart and try to revive it so to speak.
    I doubt i ever will fire it, but if i decided to, would it be safe?? And by safe i mean, how much impact does steel shot vs. lead shot have on the gun?
    Do you have ammo recommendations?

Im guessing this has been a forum topic before, but any help is appreciated. thanks!

indiucky

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    I am pretty familiar with firearms of that vintage and I am not familiar with SAS from Browning...Is it perhaps an A5 or a "Humpback" Browning??? Is it an Over under????

I.E. This??????

maxresdefault.jpg

Or this???

q_Mi5c8w_original.jpg

Old Dog

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 4, 2016
    Central Indiana
    To be safe for sure, I would not fire steel shot in any shotgun built before the advent of steel shot. Barrel metal may be too soft to handle hard steel shot.

ru44mag

Master
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 6, 2013
    I am pretty familiar with firearms of that vintage and I am not familiar with SAS from Browning...Is it perhaps an A5 or a "Humpback" Browning??? Is it an Over under????

I.E. This??????

maxresdefault.jpg

Or this???

q_Mi5c8w_original.jpg

You always have the coolest stuff!!

Libertarian01

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jan 12, 2009
    Fort Wayne
    I have multiple rifles from WWI and they are just fine to shoot. As long as there is no obvious metallurgical damage it should be good to go.