• ...and so much more!
  • 1nderbeard

Master
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    38   0   0
    Apr 3, 2017
    Hendricks County
    I'm relatively new to long range shooting. Took one long range class last fall and was able to hit shots ranging from 300-600 yards.
    I have a few rifles capable of shooting accurately that far, and some mid price range Nikon 3-9 zoom scopes. I find that out to 100 yards they are more than sufficient.

If I'm looking to shoot farther regularly, what kind of zoom scope should I plan on buying? I like the Nikon brand because of the spot on program.

fnpfan

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 96.9%
    31   1   0
    Jul 4, 2010
    Larwill
    scope shopping can be fun and frustrating, there are quite a few scopes out there, I would stay away from the "ebay" specials though, as far as zoom goes that really depends on how far you intend to shoot.. the ranges around here are typically around 100 yards, but if you are lucky you have access to a longer range, there is a large market out there, have fun shopping:):

AllenM

Diamond Collision Inc. Avon.
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    132   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    I have a 3-18 IOR that seems to do everything I ever need here in Indiana

mcapo

aka Bandit
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Mar 19, 2016
    East of Hoosier45 - West of T-dogg
    I have a 3-18 IOR that seems to do everything I ever need here in Indiana

I have some scopes up to 24x and, even at 1000 yards, dialing it back is usually beneficial. 18x is plenty.

If your goal is to hit something at range, most decent scopes will do. As you start shooting for groups, get your wallet out!

Try Alan at AA Optics. Let him know your budget, platform and goals. He will treat you right!

Last edited:

phylodog

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    59   0   0
    Mar 7, 2008
    Arcadia