Ignorance: Why Don't AR-15 Receiver and Front Block Rails Line Up?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • HMMurdock

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Sep 23, 2009
    Greenwood aka G-Wood
    This has likely already been asked but I can't find it.

I'm gonna show my ignorance on a question I feel like I should know the answer to: Why don't the rail on the flat top upper receiver (for the rear flip up sight) and the rail on the front gas block (for the front flip up sight) on my AR-15 upper line up? I'm not a physics professor, but it just seems like it would make more sense if they were on the same plane than being off for a few degrees, no? The rail on the front gas block looks a fair bit shorter in height than the railed upper receiver and I was just curious as to.... why? :dunno:

Maybe it's an optical illusion but I'm pretty sure the front rail is lower. Any insight is appreciated. :ingo:

Rating - 100%
    128   0   0
    Jan 28, 2009
    Some of them are just made that way. DPMS that I had was made that way, you can get a front sight that is taller and will put them on the same plain or change out the gas block. I always thought it was a stupid idea too.

natdscott

User Unknown
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 20, 2015
    Maybe it's an optical illusion but I'm pretty sure the front rail is lower. Any insight is appreciated. :ingo:

No, it's real. WHY it was done is a very-damned-good question.