• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • A 7.62 Exodus

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    31   0   0
    Sep 29, 2011
    Shreveport, LA
    Evening guys and gals. I've got a question for my surplus people regarding M1 Carbines and 1917 Enfields. I'm hoping to pick up either/or this weekend at a local gun show, but I don't really know what to look for before buying one. I'm somewhat familiar with what current prices are for each rifle, but I have no idea what to look for when inspecting them. Any of y'all have input to help me from spending a load of cash on something that isn't worth it?

Hop

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 21, 2008
    Indy
    I've been hunting for a 1917 myself. ~8-10 years ago they were available at the CMP store in Ohio and I'm kicking myself for not going up there with a buddy when he got his for ~$400. Prices have gone up drastically and are now in the ~$750-1400 range!

Nearly everything I've put hands on has been a combination of parts. They were made by Winchester, Remington & Eddystone (I really like the flaming bomb). Eddystone made more than the other two combined.

I can't think of anything to look for other than a clean bore, good firing pin and a smooth bolt/safety. I doubt you'll carry around a go/no-go gauge or throat & bore erosion gauge. Might be something you can buy online though. I borrow those gauges when I went to the CMP store & it erosion doesn't guarantee it's a good shooter.

Jt22453

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 11, 2018
    Greenwood