• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Sheriff Dave

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 18, 2019
    Anderson/Pendleton
    I am somewhat new to Turkey Card shooting and was wondering what everyones thoughts are on the old Marlin 55 Goose guns? I have been looking around to buy one, is it worth the time to find one? Thanks

TangoFoxtrot

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 22, 2018
    United states
    I am somewhat new to Turkey Card shooting and was wondering what everyones thoughts are on the old Marlin 55 Goose guns? I have been looking around to buy one, is it worth the time to find one? Thanks
    Personally I prefer hunting Turkey with 338 lapua magnum lol..just kidding

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Mongo59

Master
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Jul 30, 2018
    Purgatory
    Every gun, even the same make from the same manufacturer, have different patterning qualities at different distances with different loads.

At best you can influence the outcome by patterning the gun to find shot density.

Will a gun with a longer barrel always give a predictable shot density? No.

The shotgun I have won the most with is a standard length 30in modified choke Winnie model 12 if you can believe it. Why? Because it patterns in an hourglass shape. You just have to know where to aim to put the sweet spot on target.

If you want to get a Marlin then get one. Will it give you a tremendous advantage? No. A person who is familiar with their gun will always have an advantage over one who just shoulders and fires...

Sheriff Dave

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 18, 2019
    Anderson/Pendleton