• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jeffsqartan

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 21, 2012
    I'll be heading to Florida in a couple of days for a short period. There's a pawn shop just south of where I'm staying. Last time I was there, they had a few rifles that I was interested in and I'm sure they will have some this time around, too.
    I'd like to bring one of them back home, but I've never done an out of state purchase before. So I have a couple of questions here:

1- Do I need any special paperwork prior to heading in there, or is it going to be just like any purchase I'd make here in Indy?
    2- FL's new laws state that there MUST be a 3 day waiting period for firearms purchases. However, CCW license holders and hunting license holders are exempt from this. I have both, but of course they are Indiana based. What's the chances that this will exempt me? I'll only be in state for 3 days, so my chances of getting that BG check to pass before I leave are slim to none.

Any help or directions for help are greatly appreciated!

1775usmarine

Sleeper
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    81   0   0
    Feb 15, 2013
    IN
    I bought a shotgun in TN 7 yrs ago. Paid a fee and did their background check walked out after passing. Bought a marlin 60 in Georgia about the same time. Did a background check and walked out the same day.

jeffsqartan

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 21, 2012
    OK, so it sounds like paperwork wise, all I need is my ID and payment.
    But what about those extended BG checks? Does anyone have experience/knowledge on that?

JettaKnight

Я з Україною
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Oct 13, 2010
    Fort Wayne
    "Background checks" are NICS - i.e. done by the federales and it doesn't matter where you are.