• ...and so much more!
  • Rburney

Marksman
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    33   0   0
    Dec 15, 2017
    Avon
    This is my first time really cleaning a well used stock. What do you guys use to clean old military stocks? In this case a VZ24. I have heard of folks using easy-off oven cleaner but I am worried that it will be to harsh. I plan on getting all the dirt and grease off the stock and then steam out what dents I can. Then I was planning on using BLO to finish it off. I have been told to cut it with 50% mineral spirits. Does this Sound correct. Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated.

Old Bear

Greyman Apprentice
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Aug 19, 2016
    Newton County
    This is my first time really cleaning a well used stock. What do you guys use to clean old military stocks? In this case a VZ24. I have heard of folks using easy-off oven cleaner but I am worried that it will be to harsh. I plan on getting all the dirt and grease off the stock and then steam out what dents I can. Then I was planning on using BLO to finish it off. I have been told to cut it with 50% mineral spirits. Does this Sound correct. Any tips or suggestions would be appreciated.

You are correct about the BLO/Mineral spirits. I have cleaned many old Mauser stocks like this and they come out looking great. On a really grimy stock, I usually spray it down with Greased Lightening cleaner Greased-Lightning® Super Strength Cleaner(Dollar General sells it), then rinse and let air dry.

Next use the BLO/Mineral spirits and 0000 steel wool to scrub the stock in a circular motion, then wipe dry with lint free cloth and let air dry. Repeat as necessary.

I usually finish my Mausers with a BLO, hand rubbed finish, and Tom's 1/3 Wax.