• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • diveski11

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 14, 2016
    Indianapolis
    I was introduced to sporting clays recently and want to get recommendations for a shotgun that has a shorter length of pull for a 5' 2" "mature adult" female and definitely not a skinny minnie. If I recall, LOP on my rifles for target shooting are approx. 12.5" LOP. From the guns we briefly looked at in the shop it seems I will probably need to build up a higher cheek comb and might also need a bit of cast. Arthritis and Fibromyalgia are my biggest physical limitations so I also need to find a balance between weight and felt recoil.

We plan to go back and spend more time with the sales staff since it was pretty busy yesterday. I understand that I can also shoot some of their used guns, if any seem close to being a good fit.

While I am a true beginner at this we aren't afraid to spend a little to get a well fitting gun, but it would be silly at this phase to get very spendy. I'm never going to be a serious competitor. This is going to be another fun form of hobby shooting for me. I'd like to do some research before getting overwhelmed when working with the pro shop staff.

CampingJosh

Master
    Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Dec 16, 2010
    The best recommendation I can give is to head up to Indiana Gun Club. They will show you what you need, and they will make sure that you find something that fits you perfectly. And they have a lot of options in stock.

https://indianagunclub.com/

Matthews

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 14, 2019
    Dyer
    Ill chime in that there are a lot of youth models available if a shorter LOP is needed. That or find a shotgun she likes and see if a shorter stock with the specified comb is available for purchase and switch it out.

Tombs

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 13, 2011
    Martinsville