Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
    Plinker

User Info Menu

Painting Rifles. Suggestions?

I recently just completed an XM177E2 build. I've some folks who have painted theris. Either some jungle camo, green, or some desert camo. That really got me thinking about painting rifles. I've never done it before, but have several AR's that I would be willing to try this on. So, some questions arose, that I thought would be best asked to Ingo users.

Have you painted your rifle before?
    If so, what color did you choose?
    Did you choose the color/pattern based on your area that you reside? Or based on trying to achieve a certain look?
    What are your suggestions for rifle paints and patterns?
    Suggestions for patterns based on the area that you live?

Just curious about this, and eager to see what others have done previously.

Plinker

User Info Menu

Have not done any camo or pattern painting, but have done two surplus pistols and a 70 year old 22 rifle. Used DuraCoat on all three. I chose DuraCoat because I could do it myself with the equipment I have. It does not require baking. Check out their website. https://www.duracoatfirearmfinishes.com/
    I have been impressed with the durability of the finish.

Plinker

User Info Menu

I've painted a couple I always use aervoe paint browns and greens. Aervoe holds up pretty good takes a good week to cure though and if you don't like or want to change it up all it takes is acetone.

For camo I use the lightest color first as a "base coat" then the other colors I spray in a strip pattern sometimes I use a cut up net material.

Wish I had pics to show but the only ar I have that is painted right now is just a solid brown color.

Plinker

User Info Menu

I still care....Really

User Info Menu

Dura Coat is not the way to go. Never had any luck with it so I choose to have my gear Ceracoated. It is much better than Dura coat because it is a baked on finish.