• ...and so much more!
  • apache67

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 10, 2012
    Tipton
    Guys,​
    I searched for a related thread, but didn’t find anything, so if this has been addressed before, please let me know.​

I’m not new to long guns by any stretch, but I am new to the AR-15 platform. I know, way late to the party, right?​
    Anyway, I recently picked up a Ruger AR556. It came as a flat top with flip-up sights and a crappy Aim Sports 4-32 scope.​

The scope is useless. It claims to have an eye relief of 3.5 inches, but it’s far less.

Unfortunately, due to a neck injury (and my glasses) the iron sights are too low for me to use. I need about another 1/2 to 3/4 inch or so. I’ve thought about adding a carry handle (and/or a red dot), but I wonder about their height. If I go with an optic, I would still like to have usable backup sights too.

Since I don’t know much about what is out there, I wanted to get some input from you guys.
    Any suggestions?​

Thanks,​
    Apache​

masterdekoy

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    56   0   0
    Feb 12, 2013
    Columbus
    Many companies are starting to sell taller mounts, 1.93 or even 2.26 height over bore are available. Check unity’s fast mount or Scalarworks LEAP. Geissele, Reptilia also have options for a little less. Unfortunately all cost a little money but the ones I mentioned are USA made and have a solid reputation.

Route 45

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    92   0   0
    Dec 5, 2015
    Indy
    If the flip-up sights on your AR came from the factory from Ruger, they are standard AR height sights. This is going to be the same for any fixed sights. I'm not sure about any taller-than-standard sights, but the standard height is already pretty high above the bore, unlike a normal hunting style rifle. This is because there is no drop from the stock to the top of the receiver, they are basically parallel.