• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • spainy79

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Nov 19, 2008
    Sullivan
    So back in March SA was running their occasional special when you buy an M1A you'll get 2 free mags and a free scope mount with it. Seeing I was having an interest in adding an M1A to the collection I decided to go ahead and pull the trigger. I had my heart set on the Socom 16 (don't ask, just opinion) and it just so happened that PSA had the Socom's on sale at $1199 with a Kryptek camo pattern. Sold. After I got it home I submitted the what I needed to online and within 2 weeks I had my free stuff. Being a complete newb to M1A's I figured the flash suppressor would thread off and I could throw the can on...I was partially right. So after a lot more investigating and part shopping I finally ended up with the components I needed to throw the can on. Then on a Saturday afternoon in May I put the scope mount on, swapped the flash hider with the 5/8-24 threaded gas block, adjustable gas plug and a swivel stud attachment in the front (in lieu of swapping the front loop with a rail). This way I can throw a Harris style on the stud and run the sling on the loops. It didn't take long to realize the stock was not meant to run optics with. I'm using some low pro Seekins rings I had and picked up a nice Leupold 3-9. Decided the Leupold was a bit much, played some musical optics and ended up with the Vortex Viper PST 1-4 on top. I'm really wanting to use this as a woods gun this year for deer season but one more thing I would like to have is a cheek riser for the stock. I know I could just go cruise Amazon and probably find something but I wanted some input before buying something. Is there a cheek riser better than others or better suited for the M1A? That's the info I'm seeking before I drop coin on something. FYI...I haven't shot this gun yet. It just hasn't been in the cards for me. Now it's getting down to crunch time and I