• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • AR Maker

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 12, 2009
    Morgan County-MSG2
    I am new to INGunowners and have been thinking of starting some competitive shooting in the next year or so. Most interested in IDPA for now, not to big on race guns but practical shooting with practical gear appeals to me. Can anyone give me some pointers on how to get started in the sport? :ar15:

IndyGunworks

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    25   0   0
    Feb 22, 2009
    Carthage IN
    for IDPA.... a concealed carry type holster... and a single mag pouch.... i havent shot in this yet though... uspsa... have shot yet either... but a holster that covers the trigger guard.... and four mag pouchs.... for most events you should have at least 5 magazines and bring plenty of ammo to start with... you never know.... do a search in this forum and you will find a wealth of info... read all the threads start to finish and i bet most of your questions will be answered.... i am really surprised that others havent responded yet... there are some people on this board way more qualified to answer your questions than myself.

rhino

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 18, 2008
    Indiana
    I am new to INGunowners and have been thinking of starting some competitive shooting in the next year or so. Most interested in IDPA for now, not to big on race guns but practical shooting with practical gear appeals to me. Can anyone give me some pointers on how to get started in the sport? :ar15:

We (Adaptive Consulting and Training) are hosting another of our Introduction to Competition Shooting classes tomorrow (18APR09) if you are interested. The focus is USPSA-style shooting, but all of the skills and much of the rest are applicable to IDPA and similar sports as well.

You can see more in this topic: https://www.indianagunowners.com/fo...tion_shooting_-_greencastle_in_-_18apr09.html