Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9
Results 81 to 86 of 86
  1. #81
    Expert blkrifle's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by rvb View Post
    5.7.2.1
    So even after the RO says "stop," getting a squib rod and clearing the squib right there (as is often done since you usually need a rod to check for a squib anyway) now gets the shooter a DQ? Regardless whether they sweep themselves, etc?
    What if the RO clears it?
    -rvb



    its all in how you look at it. 5.7.2.1 refers to what can't be done in 5.7.2, nothing else.

    5.7.4 covers what happens when the competitor gives up or 2 minutes elapse.

    then 5.7.5 and 5.7.7


    sometime just singling one rule out leads to the wrong call. I learned this the hard way and had to reverse a call I had made.
    USPSA ty17278. Riley Conservation Club VP

  2. #82
    rvb
    rvb is offline
    Grandmaster rvb's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by blkrifle View Post
    its all in how you look at it. 5.7.2.1 refers to what can't be done in 5.7.2, nothing else.

    5.7.4 covers what happens when the competitor gives up or 2 minutes elapse.

    then 5.7.5 and 5.7.7


    sometime just singling one rule out leads to the wrong call. I learned this the hard way and had to reverse a call I had made.
    I don't see how those rules change the DQ, even after the stop but before "Range is Clear."
    5.7.2 says you can fix your junk, however, 5.7.2.1 is the exception .... can't fix squibs, it's "specifically prohibited." HQ then specifically included the phrases "whether the RO has called stop or not" and "during the course of fire."
    5.7.4 just sets the time limit, it doesn't say what you are or aren't allowed to fix, so that doesn't trump 7.5.2.1
    5.7.5/7 doesn't apply because a gun with a stuck bullet is not a "loaded firearm" per the definition.

    I would counter your list of rules with the NEW rule, 10.5.20, as well as 8.3.8.

    "During a course of fire" has long been included as specific language. It's why I never say "Range is clear" when someone has a race holster until they're done fiddling with the gun/locks, because if it falls out before the command vs after changes how it's officiated.

    I conclude that as ROs all we can do is confirm the squib, clear the range, and they have to fix it at the safe table... else the shooter ends up DQd.

    -rvb
    Last edited by rvb; 02-12-2019 at 16:04.
    Ryan V. B. TY56060 Come shoot USPSA w Ft Wayne Area Practical Shooters: www.facebook.com/fwuspsa

  3. #83
    Master jakemartens's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    So I talked to Troy about this at length, and re-read it about 50 times, couple of things I missed when reading it

    5.7.2.1 Attempting to clear a suspected “squib” is specifically prohibitedunder this provision whether the range officer has called stop ornot. Attempting to clear a squib during a course of fire isconsidered unsafe gun handling and will result in a disqualification

    The emphasis is on who is doing what and when. The rule is so that a competitor cannot clear a squib during a course of fire. This does not mean that if a squib is suspected it cannot be checked, which is different then attempting to clear it. Checking can be looking and seeing a bullet stuck in there (like halfway out the end of the barrel), or sticking a zip tie down the chamber. Attempting to clear would be hammering it out with a rod.
    If a zip tie is placed in the chamber and there is one, the RO at that point can "show clear, holster" "Range is clear" and send the competitor to the safe table, or they can knock it out real quick right there.

    This is specific to a competitor during the course of fire attempting to clear the squib, which is a DQ. It doesn't stop them from checking as long as they don't sweep themselves under 10.5.5 during the course of fire
    "Well Jakey, it's a bit ambitious" -Ken Skeeters

  4. #84
    Marksman Trapper Jim's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    What about a revolver that you can’t show clear with a forcing cone stoppage or a dislocated bullet over a live round in either
    chamber or subsequent charge hole?
    Last edited by Trapper Jim; 02-21-2019 at 06:32. Reason: Spell
    "See you on the Range"

  5. #85
    Master jakemartens's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Trapper Jim View Post
    What about a revolver that you can’t show clear with a forcing cone stoppage or a dislocated bullet over a live round in either
    chamber or subsequent charge hole?
    what do you do now?
    "Well Jakey, it's a bit ambitious" -Ken Skeeters

  6. #86
    Marksman Trapper Jim's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by jakemartens View Post
    what do you do now?
    Cuss a lot.
    "See you on the Range"

Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •