Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 62
  1. #1
    Master happygunner's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    USPSA ruling discussion.

    Aight folks, it's that time again.

    Scenario.

    Shooter is on the last target, points gun at the target presses the trigger. Just a click sound, second press went squib. Upon inspection, sure enough, bullet was still in the barrel.

    What is the call on the last target, is it just a 2 mike or 2 mike and FTSA?

    Per rulebook.

    Shot A bullet which passes completely through the barrel of a firearm.

    Engaging (As in “engaging a target”) A competitor is actively aiming at and firing at least one shot at a target that is within view, not through walls or other barriers/obstacles except soft cover.

  2. #2
    Master riverman67's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    Depends on how much of a dick you want to be and who the range master is.

    I would call 2 mike
    The shooter attempted to engage the target.
    If I heard the squib I would have tried to stop the shooter. Then he may get a reshoot if the gun is clear.

    Your scenario was last target so not likely
    Luddite Crumudgeon #1

  3. #3
    Master happygunner's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    Ok, let's consider this a level 2 match. I would call this 2M and FTSA.

    For local matches, level 1, I'm with you on the reshoot.

  4. #4
    Expert Bosshoss's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    2M and FTSA no matter what level the match is.
    If RO stops shooter for squib and bullet is in barrel like described then scored same way.

  5. #5
    Master jakemartens's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by happygunner View Post
    Ok, let's consider this a level 2 match. I would call this 2M and FTSA.

    For local matches, level 1, I'm with you on the reshoot.
    I looked through the rulebook, didn’t see where there are different rules for club match and a sanctioned match.
    "Well Jakey, it's a bit ambitious" -Ken Skeeters

  6. #6
    Grandmaster

    User Info Menu

    -----------------------------------------------
    Done, done, and I’m on to the next one...
    -----------------------------------------------

  7. #7
    Master riverman67's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    2 Mike's
    The shooter attempted to engage.
    I learned a lot about RO discretion at nationals.
    If the shooter wishes to call the range master and ask for more penalties he is free to do so.
    You guys are dicks.
    Luddite Crumudgeon #1

  8. #8
    Grandmaster Coach's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    No RO discretion. RM discretion. RM can do anything they want regardless of the written rule.
    No one is stronger or more dangerous than the man who can harness his emotions.

    www.BrightFirearmsTraining.com

    abright@ccrtc.com


  9. #9
    Master Twangbanger's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    If the rule is still written that way when I acquire my deputy badge, I would stress the "...actively aiming at and firing..." portion over the "...(a) shot..." portion.

    Two mikes. Whether what the competitor is "firing" actually turns into a "shot" or not lies in the components in the shell, not the shooter's intent. In my opinion.

    "They may be balls, or they may be strikes; but they ain't a damn thing until _I_ call them."

    If you don't agree, stay off my squad. (But you've got a little while yet, before you have to start worrying about that).

  10. #10
    Master happygunner's Avatar

    User Info Menu

    I agree with Bosshoss and Jake. Same with coach.

    I guess I'm too nice at a local match.

    riverman67 I understand your part but an attempt to engage doesn't mean there was an engagement per rulebook hence the penalty says FTSA instead of FTE.

    Twangbanger "actively aiming at and firing". That last word is the key. If the gun didn't fire or didn't shoot, it is FTSA.

    The reason I bring this discussions up from time to time so we can be consistent and have fun at the same time.


Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Button Dodge