• ...and so much more!
  • trclark1525

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 30, 2019
    Goshen
    Hey guys,

I was considering shooting the Warsaw Steel Challenge this Saturday for the first time. It would be my first legitimate competition, but I’ve shot a couple “tactical pistol” evenings at Paradise Pass on Thursday nights. Anyways, I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions or tips for a new competition shooter. I’ve been behind a gun for several years, but the competition realm is something new to me.

worddoer

Master
    Rating - 100%
    42   0   1
    Jul 25, 2011
    Wells County
    Well...as a fellow newb, I would say to make sure you focus on safety and relaxed fun at first. Don't worry, the competition bug will bite and rear its head soon enough. But getting disqualified from the match for a safety reason is not fun.

I shot USPSA on Sunday's last year, but due to a schedule change, I could only shoot Steel Challenge on Saturday's this year. There is what I consider to be a sizable difference between Steel Challenge and the "run and gun" type matches. For experienced competitive shooters, some may consider this borning. For newer competitive shooters, Steel Challenge is a great place to start IMHO.

My son and I have been to a couple of matches at Warsaw so far this year. We have both enjoyed the experience and were happy to see how encouraging everyone was. I am confident you will enjoy it also.

marvin02

Don't Panic
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    56   0   0
    Jun 20, 2019
    Calumet Twp.
    Warsaw is a great place to shoot. Get ready to have fun. Make sure you tell then when you sign in that it is your first steel challenge match.