Some trap shooting advice (bringing my fiancee into the fold)

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • larcat

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jul 27, 2020
    NWI
    My partner is historically anti-gun, but has been coming around recently and I've got her excited to try trap/sporting clays. She's never shot in her life before.

I'm a very amateur trap shooter but really enjoy it. For her initial intro though I sorta feel like getting her an introductory lesson with a professional instructor is probably the better way to go. She's also got some health concerns that impact this (pretty substantial surgery on her right shoulder, she's right hand dominant) so other than "heavy semi auto", I'm not really sure what to shop for her for as per a gun for clays. She's a solid 6' and pretty strong, so a little easier than it might be to shop here.

1) Any one know a (maybe hopefully female) instructor in the NWI Indiana area that I could buy a lesson from for my lady for an intro course?
    2) Any suggestions on what guns to look at? She likes vintage stuff and wood + steel, so that direction might be best. I personally like shooting Model 12s for trap, but I think they probably have more felt recoil than she will be comfy with.

Thanks for any advice.

-L

gottabeoutdoors

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 23, 2017
    Frankfort