Join INGunOwners For Free
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Plinker

User Info Menu

Some trap shooting advice (bringing my fiancee into the fold)

My partner is historically anti-gun, but has been coming around recently and I've got her excited to try trap/sporting clays. She's never shot in her life before.

I'm a very amateur trap shooter but really enjoy it. For her initial intro though I sorta feel like getting her an introductory lesson with a professional instructor is probably the better way to go. She's also got some health concerns that impact this (pretty substantial surgery on her right shoulder, she's right hand dominant) so other than "heavy semi auto", I'm not really sure what to shop for her for as per a gun for clays. She's a solid 6' and pretty strong, so a little easier than it might be to shop here.

1) Any one know a (maybe hopefully female) instructor in the NWI Indiana area that I could buy a lesson from for my lady for an intro course?
    2) Any suggestions on what guns to look at? She likes vintage stuff and wood + steel, so that direction might be best. I personally like shooting Model 12s for trap, but I think they probably have more felt recoil than she will be comfy with.

Thanks for any advice.

-L

Plinker

User Info Menu

Not quite NWI, but when my wife wanted to learn Sporting Clays back in 2013, we went down to Indiana Gun Club and she had a number of lessons with the pro there that does instruction. They also helped her find a shotgun that fit her perfectly and worked well for her (ended up being a Beretta A400). She got really decent in a short amount of time as a result of this arrangement and we had a lot of fun shooting various matches around the state.

Hope that helps any.

EDIT: I just saw where the instructor there at IGC, Bob Self, passed away earlier this year. He was a great teacher and seemingly a great person.

User Info Menu

I love shooting the clay's sports and I can see why anyone would want to.