• doddg

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    135   0   1
    May 15, 2017
    Indianapolis
    I'm a newbie since May.
    I have had much fun buying and selling and renting at the range a bevy of 9mm and .38 specials to know which to choose.
    I have ended up with a S/W Shield 9mm ($280) and a .45 ($320 w/ammo), a Smith revolver 642 for personal carry (Carelas $300, from a tip here, (I'm a revolver guy), and a Smith 64-8 model for the home.

But, my heart is in the .22.
    I bought a new Ruger GP100 ($600 at Hoosier Armory) and a single-action western style ($110). Love to have the Ruger single-action but unwilling to spend the money since I went wild with the $600 Ruger 10 shot SS, which I love. Love to try out the Smith 617 to see if it is any "better" or more to my liking. I intended to buy the best since I'm old and I owned a dozen or more of cheap .22s from the late 70s to 1990 when I sold almost everything.
    I also discovered the 1911-22 and bought a Sig Sauer for $200 (cost me $100 to repair it :wallbash: : it was new, unfired, but had issues due to upgraded parts that weren't good, from CW Accessories). I have found a Colt/Walther for $200 and almost bought it also, but controlled myself.

I recently wanted to revive my love (from the late 80s when I had a Beretta) for tilt-up barrels and bought a Taurus PT22 ($160) and a Beretta 950 .25 ($225). Both were both from guys here, one of which has bought 3 guns off me and I have bought 2 off him: wonderful world, this INGO. :ingo:
    I'm looking and waiting to get a Beretta .32 but I'm only willing to pay $300, and I missed my chance to buy one 3 weeks ago b/c of my ignorance (didn't recognize it was a tilt-up barrel).

I have been tempted to buy other .22 handguns that have come along, but the revolvers are pricey (to me, b/c I try to pay around $200ish).