• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Kaneda13

Adeptus Mechanicus
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Aug 13, 2013
    Indianapolis
    So, for quite a while I have wanted to install a whole house generator in my garage. I've got access to my chimney stack, so I can just vent it there (feel better with it inside than out). Anyway, I'm trying to get an idea of what size I would need. I'm an auto mechanic my trade, so i'm most likely looking at cobbling something together, and paying someone to wire it into my main breaker box (also in the garage, very near where I want it). Anyway, on to my question: I'm having trouble picking out what size generator I would need. I've been tracking my IPL kWh readings over the last year, and My peak was 1500 kWh in a month, with an average of 920 over the last year. So figuring my highest over the last year at 1500 kWh for the month of December, so my average would be 1600 kWh / 30 days * 24 hours = and average of 2.2 kWh. I understand this is an average, but I'm just trying to figure all this out in my head. Anyone with an understanding point me in the right direction if I'm off?

Leo

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    Lafayette, IN
    I don't think you want to use your chimney. I would not vent it anywhere that fumes can mitigate back into the house. Chimneys work best when there is plenty of heat and volume to keep the fumes rising. Whatever size you think you need, buy the next size bigger. A big block engine at 50% load is better than a small engine at 100% load.

Last edited:

Butch627

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Jan 3, 2012
    NWI
    As an auto mechanic do you really think the heat, fumes, gasoline, etc of a engine running for hours or days at a time in your garage is a good idea?