• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Jackson

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 31, 2008
    West side of Indy
    For reasons other than prepping, I'm trying out a 3-4 day water-only fast. It occurred to me this experience and any lessons I learn about myself may have some applicability in a SHTF, disaster, or lost in the woods scenario.

Has anyone else tried this? Or does anyone else regularly restrict calories to get used to not eating all the time as most people do?

Most people I know have never intentionally gone more than a day without eating. I know I haven't. So I wanted to try it out.

I'm just beginning day 2 (Wednesday). I started tapering off both calories and carbs on Saturday because I thought it would be easier.

In the low cal/carb pre-fast days I didn't experience too many I'll effects. I did train Jiu Jitsu on Saturday and Monday. I felt a little slow and sluggish there. I also notice I'm a bit more sore than usual. I think it's harder to recover when diet is restricted and carbs are low.

Yesterday (day 1) I ate nothing. I felt hungry and had a lot of gurgling in my stomach. Otherwise there were no ill effects.

Today (day 2) I don't feel any gurgling but an empty feeling in my stomach. I have a slight headache. I woke up dehydrated though. So I'm not sure if it's the fast or the dry air. I'll be drinking a lot of water today. I planned to go for a slow jog this morning but my legs feel stiff and prone to cramping, so I skipped it. I also feel a little... slow I guess. Both mentally and physically just a little sluggish.

I'm curious to see how day 3 goes. If it feels good I'll go to the evening of day 4.

Anyway, just thought this would be an interesting experience for myself.

GIJEW

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009