• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • N8RV

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 8, 2012
    Peoria
    I had the privilege this week of attending a carbine class offered by Haley Strategic Partners, the Disruptive Science D5 Carbine course at Hillside Shooting Sports in Roanoke, just SW of Ft. Wayne. Since there are myriad threads about Travis Haley and links to his training videos, I won't repeat what has already been offered. The intent of my AAR is to focus more on Travis Haley the man than on the course.

When I started training locally a few years ago, I was a blank sheet of paper. Knowledge base = nil. I can be a slow learner, too, so that offered significant challenges to my mentors as well. However, they molded me into a marginally competent shooter who now looks for more opportunities to learn.

Like many modern students, when I began my journey I looked to the internet. I stumbled upon the Magpul Dynamics DVDs and ordered them, clueless about the instructors. As I devoured the videos, I found that I gravitated more toward Travis Haley than Chris Costa. Go figure. :rolleyes:

I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the principles that they taught on the videos were nearly identical to what I'd been taught locally, which gave me confidence in the methodology that I'd been taught. I also determined that someday, should the opportunity present itself, I would train with Haley in person.

Fast-forward to today. The Magpul Dynamics guys have parted ways, each has garnered a measure of celebrity in the shooting world, and training has evolved. When I saw that Travis was coming to a range nearby, I had to sign up.