• ...and so much more!
  • geezer

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 14, 2016
    NE Indiana
    old geezers like me.

I've not done research except post this same question to the Armed Citizen' Legal Defense Network, I am a member. They didn't have an answer.

I am 89 years of age. I can't run, I can't stoop, I can't engage in any of the hot shot competition style classes. It seems to me that all classes assume that the person is in decent shape. I am an NRA instructor so I'm quite familiar with firearms and have taught many classes. However, I'm new to the foibles that crop up as I age. I just recently traded down to a 9mm Micro Kimber from, a .40 Sig, thumb arthritis and a stiff recoil spring are not compatible.

No big deal here as I'll figure it out using experience and remembering that disparity of force can work to my advantage because of these same negatives. I'm a 60 year member of the FWR&R so I have a place to try my own techniques.

Just throwing this out for comments

VERT

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    Jan 4, 2009
    Seymour
    If you want to make the drive then come down and take our NRA Defensive Pistol course. We won't make you stoop or kneel if you don't want. They removed the mandatory kneeling portion but we still practice it. Plus I am not OLD like you but I do have arthritis in the hands and can relate. Just don't bring the micro Kimber for the main portion of the course. Trust me I have seen people try and the gun is to small to manipulate. I can loan you a nice 9mm 1911 which have become both the favorite of both my wife and I. Both of us have hand issues.