• ...and so much more!
  • Never A Victim

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Sep 25, 2012
    Hamilton County
    Practical Shotgun-Steve Fisher-5/26/2017

This is my review of Practical Shotgun taught by Steve Fisher of Sentinel Concepts. This course was taught at the Alliance, OH police range on 5/26/2017. Gear used for this course was a Remington 870 shotgun with an XS Big Dot front sight, SOE single point sling and SOE side saddle. I used Hornady Critical Defense 8 pellet 00 buckshot for the patterning portion of the class. During this course I had no gear failures.

I have previously taken a one-day shotgun class with Tom Givens in 2016, and I really enjoyed that introduction to an area of shooting that I knew very little about. I say that as a ten-year police officer who carried a Remington 870 for the first 2-3 years of my career. Simply put, I’m still learning how to effectively fight with a shotgun. Fighting with a shotgun is broken down into two parts. The first is physically learning how to feed and shoot the shotgun. The second part is learning what ammo to use in your specific shotgun. This one-day shotgun class by Sentinel Concepts focused exclusively on those two aspects.

The morning started with a safety lecture and introductions. The morning lecture was very gear centered, which I was not accustomed to. However, most of the talk was about ammo selection and I found it very interesting. Steve even explained that he has a low opinion of the role of slugs, as with a good buckshot selection it is possible to get accurate reliable hits out to 50 yards. Initially I disagreed, and later I was proven wrong. Shotgun training has taught me that most of the myths I have heard about shotgun fighting are incorrect.