Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Trainer Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 15, 2008
    Coatesville
    I wish more people would use a startle proof register position.

cedartop

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Apr 25, 2010
    North of Notre Dame.
    I have been teaching it that way for around 10 years now after learning it from someone who probably got it from Craig. I make it a point to tell people to keep their finger in the register position, not just "off the trigger". It frustrates some of them.

jkdbjj

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 11, 2015
    rural
    I think it was Clint Smith that said "...on the target on the trigger, off the target off the trigger." Always made good sense to me.

T.Lex

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Mar 30, 2011
    I think I use the same thing, but think of it as an "Index" position. And, it isn't that high up on the slide, since my fingers aren't NEARLY that flexible.

I can see how it would make sense to angle it as far away as possible from the trigger, so I'm not knocking the idea of it. For me, it just makes more sense - across all the platforms I have - to simply extend the finger above the trigger guard.

It does seem risky to have the finger "across" the trigger to the far side of the trigger guard. I could see how that would be easy to twitch onto the trigger at an inopportune time.

Jackson

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 31, 2008
    West side of Indy
    The big positive of having a fixed, repeatable index that has a positive feel with some bite, is your finger is less likely to slide off in to the trigger guard.