• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • riverman67

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 16, 2009
    Morgan County
    I'm no expert but I believe cedartop is correct. Turn into the gun is the way I have been instructed.
    This gets the gun inside the 180 the quickest.
    My turn and draw isn't quick enough for that to matter :rolleyes:

Coach

Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Trainer Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 15, 2008
    Coatesville
    Why the moving straight down range after the turn? How often have you encountered that situation?

Coach

Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Trainer Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Apr 15, 2008
    Coatesville
    closer you get, the higher the percentage shot.

This is a competition specific subject. There are seldom target arrays that call for this in competition at least in the years I have been shooting competition, and classifiers are almost always from a 3 foot box. Have you shot some stages where the movement applys?
    And in terms of moving off the line of force moving straight forward does not change you as a sight picture.

GIJEW

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Right/wrong? I missed it. In both cases he turned before he drew his pistol and, as I understand it, the 180degree rule is a function of the angle of the pistol relative to the firing line

chezuki

Human
    Rating - 100%
    48   0   0
    Mar 18, 2009
    Behind Bars
    Right/wrong? I missed it. In both cases he turned before he drew his pistol and, as I understand it, the 180degree rule is a function of the angle of the pistol relative to the firing line

It’s much faster to turn toward your strong side. The other way, you have to move much further before you draw to avoid breaking the 180.

Coach

Grandmaster
    Emeritus
    Trainer Supporter
    Local Business Supporter
    Rating - 100%