• ...and so much more!
  • Ruger_Ronin

Turkey Herder
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Aug 22, 2017
    Outer Heaven
    As a novice shooter, I find myself becoming overwhelmed at times with the vast array of information to make me into a better marksman. I have in the past few years been making more of an effort to train with qualified instructors who have real world experience. I have no military background, fall into the classic "grew up with guns" grouping, and have a genuine desire to excel beyond my current ability. I will be taking my first carbine course in a couple weeks...https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?ur...are_tid=460836&share_fid=2003869&share_type=t

The short of it.. what is an acceptable standard to be considered a "decent" marksman. What are military qualifications, competition level, etc.

Any and all feedback welcome as long as it's constructive...

The following target from today's range session was standing, free-hand @ 50m.

Colt 6920, eotech 517, no frills AR
    ea67b66f4294ea66b87845f07f7eeb89.jpg

Sent from my E6810 using Tapatalk

MCgrease08

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Mar 14, 2013
    Earth
    Can you hit a 12" x 12" shingle at 200 yards on your first shot standing with a cold barrel?

I highly recommend taking a Revere's Riders basic rifle class. You will learn the proper fundamentals related to manipulating the rifle, shooting positions, proper sight picture, natural point of aim, breathing and calling shots.

https://www.reveresriders.org

natdscott

User Unknown
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jul 20, 2015
    Historically, to be considered "above average" on your feet, being able to place all your rounds into 3-5 MOA is probably about the standard.

An offhand group the size of your fist at 100 yards is not easy, has never ever been easy, and will not be anytime soon. It's one of the most enduring struggles in all of marksmanship.