• oze

Mow Ho
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 26, 2018
    Fort Wayne
    Hello all!

Newbie here, and am just now doing the research on which handgun to buy to be my very first one. I have been happily married to my college sweetheart for almost 36 years, and would prefer to remain in that state. However, when I first floated the idea of purchasing a handgun a couple of months ago, she went absolutely nuts. You'd think that I had asked her if I could bring a cardboard box full of scorpions, or worse, another woman home. The degree of her visceral response surprised me. We have 2 children (24 and 19), but are pseudo-empty-nesters, with both away at college for most of the year. No young nieces, nephews or mentally disturbed people ever visit us.

The genesis of my wanting to own a firearm at this tender age is the fact that I no longer feel confident that, if an intruder broke into our home, I would be able to take care of business with the aluminum softball bat that's been by my bedside since before I was married. Most likely I was kidding myself for 40 years, and the wisdom of the years finally opened my eyes to reality. I have begun my due diligence, researching different platforms and trying them out at the range. I took a couples' intro to firearms course, which I ended up attending by myself after Mrs. oze backed out. I purchased a yearly range membership, and want to take as much more formal training as possible. OK, OK, I'll also admit that shooting is a whole lot of fun! Sorry for the repetition for those of you who may have already read my introductory post, but leaving the range after poking holes in a paper target with a Sig Sauer P938 (as part of that class), I was positively giddy. Even the smell was intoxicating!