• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • tradertator

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    128   0   0
    Jul 1, 2008
    Greene County
    I have wanted to join the "big boy" club for quite some time now, but am not quite sure where to start. I want a bolt action, single shot, with the best bang for my buck. My eye is currently on the Armalite AR-50, but the Barrett M99 looks like a great option as well. Any suggestions, and real world experience would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :patriot:.

50bmgshooter

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Oct 4, 2009
    Greenfield
    Armalite would be an excellent choice. I've shot two of them and they are "easy" on recoil and very accurate. The only drawback on them is the brake design. The Tylenol that comes with them.....you'd probably need it. The M99 I have no personal experience with. Heard good things though. But for the price of the 99, or the 99 kit, you can have the AR50 and money left over for a great scope.

kickbacked

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 12, 2010
    i have no experience with 50 bmg but after looking around i think serbu bfg 50 is the cheapest out there price wise and its bolt action. But i have no clue how well they shoot or are made.

TREETOP

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    31   0   0
    Feb 26, 2011
    Carmel/Westfield
    Have you considered a BOHICA Arms .50BMG upper for an AR? It's single shot and bolt action. I think that would be the best bang for the buck especially if you already have an AR lower.

[edit:] There are other companies making.50 uppers also, I mention the BOHICA specifically because when I was considering a .50 it was the cheapest and looked like a good quality product.

shibumiseeker

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    49   0   0
    Nov 11, 2009
    near Bedford on a whole lot of land.
    I have owned an AR-50, and a Bohica Mk III, and I currently have an LAR Grizzly and a Ferret-50.