• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bulletsmith

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Apr 26, 2015
    Lake County
    I'm working on refilling the coffers and find that I'm out of 9mm bullets. I have been loading lead 125gr RN for many years with no complaints. To be honest though I think I chose this weight because that is what was available when I started. Now that I'm going to have to order more I'm considering trying something different. My thoughts are to try a lighter bullet 115gr maybe.

What are you 9mm shooters using for plinking at steel, paper, bowling pins, black walnuts lying on the ground... etc? What is it you like about a lighter bullet or a heavier bullet for general plinking?

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013
    We gennerally shoot 115 grain pulled mil bullets I bought twenty + years ago for almost nothing.. About 35 bucks a narrow 30 cal ammo can full.
    If the kid or I shoot a match with 9mm we shoot 147 +- grain cast lead.
    It does a more reliable job knocking down the steel.
    The heavier bullets tend to shoot softer and are more comfortable to blast a afternoon away.

red_zr24x4

UA#190
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 14, 2009
    Walkerton
    We load alot of 115g cast, but that's because that's the mold we inherited.
    If I'm buying bullets for plinking, its generally 124g plated.

bulletsmith

Master
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Apr 26, 2015
    Lake County
    For those of you that choose plated or jacketed bullets. Is it mostly to avoid leading? I have a good source for good hard lead bullets, leading is not an issue presently.

I know these seem like noob questions, but I've been doing the same thing for so long that I don't remember trying any other options. Why not take advantage of other peoples experience...

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013