• ...and so much more!
  • Michiana

Master
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 3, 2008
    Granger
    Going through my "stuff" I had packed away I found a Realist USA rifle scope in a 4X power. It looks in pretty good condition but I cannot find out any information on this make. There is no model number or name on the scope to help in indentification. Any insight will be appreciated. Thanks

jimbo-indy

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Apr 3, 2008
    N.W. Indy
    I think I remember "Realist" brand scopes. I think think it was a trade name used by one of the large chain stores: Sears, Western Auto, or some such. Probably made on contract by another scope manufacturer like Weaver, Bushnell or some other. I seem to remember this in conjunction with my early shooting days in high school. That would be in the early to late 60's as I graduated in '67. Had a Winchester model 70 in .270 with a K4 Weaver back then. It was a class piece in it's time.

Michiana

Master
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    May 3, 2008
    Granger
    I believe almost all the hits are junk, nothing about realist scopes except a very few. Action arms web site had some info but I still do not know if the scope is decent quailty or not. Seems like it is. It is a four power and has cross hairs that taper from the sides and are very thin and parallel in the center. See attached example, similar but without tapered heavy lines. Would a 4X be for deer hunting? This site mentions that they think this scope sold in the $120 range around 1970, which was a good buck back then for a average single power scope. I might have found something and I don't have a gun to mount it on.

Crystalship1

Master
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 4, 2008
    Oaklandon, IN.
    Here's a little info.: