• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Chr15topher

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Jan 21, 2013
    New Albany
    I'm new to the Indy area and am looking for a correctional officer job. I've been spreading my resume and applications around for the greater part of the day... I'm a pretty successful traveling agent for Verizon BUT I want to peruse a life-long career goal in law enforcement. The surrounding police agencies aren't hiring, so I want to do something similar in the meantime.

Chr15topher

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Jan 21, 2013
    New Albany
    My wife recently accepted a great paying career in Indy (hence the move). This is the reason I can pursue my career path rather than worry about money.

THard6

Master
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   1
    Apr 1, 2010
    Greenwood
    to be honest I think you're better off starting as a jailer. and wokring for that county jail for a few years, taking classes and whatever they want you to do, and then work your way up.. get your foot in the door and go from there

Darral27

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Aug 13, 2011
    Elwood
    Pendleton is pretty much always hiring these days. They have 3 facilities right around the same area. You can apply online at IN.gov site.

mcolford

Master
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 8, 2010
    I know all the prisons hire pretty much on a regular basis.

Biggest thing to get into a LE agency is getting your name known. Go on ride alongs, get to know the officers... Not only that but it will get you a better view of the career. Also becoming a Reserve officer is a sure way. Its no pay, but you can get a lot of training with the PD of your choice, as well as get some life lessons from the seasoned officers. Most departments have a Reserve program, and they look at their Reserves first when hiring... Just another idea.

Chr15topher

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Jan 21, 2013