• ...and so much more!
  • msd

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 10, 2011
    Princeton
    Anyone on here ever tried Bens Red yet?
    I've made up 2 batches so far and this morning was out lubing at 4am.
    So far it's worked out good. Tacky and slick but not too slick.
    Lots better than the Rooster Lab Zambini I was using.
    Ben, the guy who came up with the formula says it wont lead, assures me I'll like it.
    Tomorrow we'll find out on some 500's I'll load up and some 45's

PistolBob

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Oct 6, 2010
    Midwest US
    Is that different than Ed's Red? I've been using Ed's red for over 20 years now. It's the best bore cleaner I have ever used. Ed Harris came up with this concoction and I can vouch for it.

CONTENTS: Ed's Red Bore Cleaner​

• 1 part Dexron ATF, GM Spec. D-20265 or later.​
    • 1 part Kerosene - deodorized, K1​
    • 1 part Aliphatic Mineral Spirits​
    • CAS #64741-49-9, or substitute "Stoddard Solvent", CAS #8052-41-3, or equivalent.​
    • 1 part Acetone, CAS #67-64-1.​
    • (Optional 1 lb. of Lanolin, Anhydrous, USP per gallon, or OK to substitute Lanolin, Modified, Topical Lubricant, from the drug store)​
    MIXING INSTRUCTIONS:​
    Mix outdoors, in good ventilation. Use a clean 1 gallon metal, chemical-resistant, heavy gage PET or PVC plastic container. NFPA approved plastic gasoline storage containers are OK. Do NOT use HDPE, which is permeable, because the acetone will slowly evaporate. Acetone in ER will attack HDPE over time, causing the container to collapse, making a heck of a mess!