• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Thegeek

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jan 20, 2013
    Indianapolis
    I understand what you're saying, I've just not seen any proof of it. Kujo stated you provide make and serial number. That means the make would be part of the unique ID. In which case my suggestion absolutely does not work.

Seems like there should be an amendment process for previously approved items (IE serial number change, etc.).

Sorry OP, sounds like you're SOL unless you can find a place to repair it.

17 squirrel

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    May 15, 2013
    I'm no metallurgy expert but the mag tactical lower is a magnesium infused aluminum which I don't believe you cannot weld magnesium.

Yea, im not being a dick but your not a expert.. There are multiple processes to weld Mag alloys. Stick,mig and tig for starters..

Last edited:

Cameramonkey

www.thechosen.tv
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    May 12, 2013
    Camby area
    That's not necessarily true. I know someone who had a MAJOR manufacturer replace their broken factory SBR lower with a brand new one. Same serial number as the old.

I could swear that was one of the things that manufacturer that got busted and fined for having too many unnumbered lowers laying around because the guy that does the engraving was on vacation or some nonsense like that.

But knowing our govt, I wouldnt put it past them for night/day interpretations of law depending on the day of the week and what the person in charge felt like that day.

Hkindiana

Master
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Sep 19, 2010
    Southern Hills