• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Zero_ek

Marksman
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Oct 29, 2010
    Alexandria
    I'm looking to buy a 9mm for a sidearm to my AR15 when I take classes and seminars. I could only fork out about $400 and I have little to no knowledge about handguns. Where should I start?

Jubba

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 7, 2010
    WAL-MART
    Hold and shoot as many as you can. Decide which one works best for your needs. Oh an the standard answer is a used Glock 19.

NovemberKilo

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 6, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    There are literally at least a dozen great options in 9mm and several in your price range if you don't mind looking at used models.

That said, of the firearms I've owned, the Glock 19 is the only real workhorse in my stable. I'm not necessarily the guy that will tell you Glocks are the "best" or the solution for every need (they're not), but my G19 does everything I need it to and does it well. I would start there.

Other choices:

M&P 9mm
    XD 9mm
    CZ 75
    Beretta PX4 Storm

NovemberKilo

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 6, 2011
    Northern Indiana
    Yep handle as many as you can. Read up and decide what caliber you want. Don't settle for something in your price range if you don't really like it.

:yesway:

A couple extra weeks/months of saving has always paid off for me.

Don't let money burn a hole in your pocket and don't let the guy behind the counter talk you into something you're not thrilled with. Find what you like - what you know is a good fit - and save for it.

It's expensive to buy a new gun, sell it at a loss a few months later and then go back in on a higher-shelf model!

chewylax8

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Oct 13, 2010