• GodFearinGunTotin

Super Moderator
    Staff member
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 22, 2011
    Mitchell
    Teflon is a brand name. It contained PFAS but now they just want to distance themselves from it. But regardless, people have to invent phrases like “forever chemicals”.
    Yeah, I guess that makes them sound scarier than certain other chemicals that last forever (fortunately) that we require just to live…like oxygen and water.

jamil

code ho
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 17, 2011
    Gtown-ish
    Would people have been without the .gov banning it?
    Some, no. Some be like, I’ve been spraying that stuff for 20 years and never had a—cough, cough, [uncontrollable hacking and coughing]—‘scuse me, I’ve been having this terrible cough lately. No idea why. Oh shucks. Let me wipe this here blood off my mouth. There. Now what was I sayin’? Oh yeah, that DDT stuff works real good. It ain’t never hurt me.

A coworker of mine used to like to say, “Reality gets rid of the dumb ones first.” I don’t think using stupid phrases like “forever chemicals” changes reality much. You also don’t have to use scary words to ban stuff. Stuff gets banned for lots of reasons, including when studies show something causes more harm than benefit.

Tryin'

Victimized
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Nov 18, 2009
    Hamilton County
    Would people have been without the .gov banning it?
    Some were, obviously; they were the ones sounding the alarm. But at a wide scale? I doubt it. Everything in that age was a miracle. Plastics, pesticides, semiconductors, vaccines, everything. It was a generation that went from outhouses and horse drawn plows to the moon. There was no problem that couldn't be solved by chemistry and technology. The producers and propagators of those products were held in the highest public trust because they were literally changing civilization.