• ...and so much more!
  • 88E30M50

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Dec 29, 2008
    Greenwood, IN
    Like many folks, I don't want to go without comms in any type of SHTF situation, whether tornado, fire, or man-made. To that end, several years ago, I bought a box full of GMRS radios. I figured that if I needed them, I'd figure them out at that time. I paid the $70 (at that time) for the license and then let them sit in the box unused until the rechargeable batteries were crap. This spring, I decided to replace them with a box full of UV-5Rs, with every intention of doing the same thing.

Once I got them, I realized that I could not even test them to check the range or functionality without a license, so I studied for a week or two and got my ham radio license. Once I had the license, I started to actually learn about the craft of radio communications and am so glad I did. The idea that you can have a box of UV-5Rs and learn to use them effectively when you need them is no different than someone buying a gun and thinking that they'll learn to shoot when they need it.

Ham radio is a great hobby, and the license is not hard at all to get. It opens you up to being able to practice communications with weekly nets where a large number of people get together at a specified time to practice organized communication skills. Sounds dull, but it's a lot of fun. Most nights of the week, there are nets organized, and most are about 30 minutes to an hour. Some are geared specifically to helping newbies (like me) get comfortable on the air, and others are general news or discussion oriented. Good stuff.

There's a lot more to effective comms in a SHTF situation than just turning the radio on and talking. Getting the ham license exposes you to info that plays a major role in how successful you are in communicating via a radio.