• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Aggar

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Sep 7, 2010
    Kirklin
    Was wondering about crossbows. Didn't know they were allowed in late archery. So now I think I want to get one. What are the regs for them and what do I need to look for in getting one and would use broadheads from a regular arrow or do they have special weight for them? Total newbie here. Thanks.

Willie

Master
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Nov 24, 2010
    Warrick County
    Crossbows legal only in late archery season. Crossbows must have a minimum draw weight of 125-pounds and a mechanical safety.

www.in.gov/dnr/fishwild/2343.htm

317-232-4200

You may take either sex if you have not killed an antlered deer in a previous season.

The NRC passed the DNR proposal to allow the use of crossbows in all deer seasons starting in 2012.

If you can find a pro shop that will allow you to shoot several brands you can make your own choice.

You can use any broadhead. I prefer the NAP Spitfire mechanicals as they fly same POI as my field points and make devestating holes in deer.

Most manufacturers will state the weight of the arrow for their crossbows. I shoot and hunt with a TenPoint and 425 grains is what they recommend.

I would suggest to you for a starter crossbow to look at the Wicked Ridge line. They are made by TenPoint but less expensive. Be sure to get a cocking aid as it allows you to cock the bow easier and REALLY helps on accuracy.

Good luck and ask any other question that you might have.

Aaronhome27

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Nov 18, 2009
    Kendallville