• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rambone

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    'Merica
    A mother was walking her children across the street when a drunk driver struck and killed one of them; 4 years old. Now the mother has been charged with homicide and could face more time in prison than the drunk driver. The mother apparently was jaywalking.

Mother Raquel Nelson faces jail for killing her son, four, after they crossed road in the wrong place - and he died in a hit-and-run

Raquel Nelson, 30, could now spend more time in jail than the driver because she didn't use a crosswalk when she walked her three children over a busy street in Marietta, Georgia.

a.bentonab

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    May 22, 2009
    Evansville
    The linked article is pretty skimpy on details. I am no lawyer, but I think that it would be pretty important to establish why the accident happened. Did the accident happen because the driver was drunk or did the accident happen because they crossed at an unsafe place? I don't see much evidence either way. The only snippet is that the article says the boy darted out into the street, which leads me to believe that maybe even a sober driver would have had the same outcome.

printcraft

INGO Clown
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Feb 14, 2008
    Uranus
    With two previous hit and run accidents why was this guy behind the wheel and not behind bars!

Guy was released in October after spending six months in prison.
    He confessed to having had 'a little' alcohol in the day, said he was on pain medication and was partially blind in one eye.

:n00b: <------- actual photo of the suspect.

WTF over.

They convicted the mom with homicide by vehicle........ she was standing on the side of the road.........
    :rolleyes:

eldirector

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Apr 29, 2009
    Brownsburg, IN